Wednesday, 7 February 2018

#BlogTour: Unconvicted by Olly Jarvis @canelo_co @ollyjarviso #Unconvicted

Published by Canelo on 29th January 2018. My thanks to the Author and the Publisher for the review copy and having me on the blog tour. You can get your copy on the following purchase links:

In a razor-sharp legal thriller, Jack Kowalski must win two challenging trials to save his reputation and his career
Junior barrister Jack Kowalski is crushed. His client Timothy Smart appears to have committed a monstrous crime while on bail – a bail application Jack fought hard to win.
When a high-profile Polish footballer is charged with rape and demands a fellow countryman represent him, Jack must overcome his guilt and get back to work. Before long he takes on a second case, a GBH for instructing solicitor Lara Panassai, who Jack remains desperate to impress. But neither case is what it seems, and Jack will face an extraordinary uphill battle to see that justice is done…
The second Jack Kowalski novel, Unconvicted is a gripping courtroom drama written with the expert insight of a practicing criminal barrister, perfect for fans of William L. Myers, Deborah Hawkins, and Scott Turow.

My Thoughts:

I was delighted when I learnt that Olly Jarvis had written a second novel featuring Jack Kowalski, the first Cut-Throat defence I reviewed here in 2016. I enjoyed this one equally or perhaps even slightly more. 

Unconvicted is certainly a page turner and I do love a legal thriller. Olly Jarvis really manages to get under the skin of his characters. Jack in particular is wonderful, he has a real sense of right and wrong and wants to do good.

Featuring a few new cases, Unconvicted also sees the welcome return of Solicitor Lara. I love her straight talking attitude she seems to keep Jack grounded and always knows the right thing to say. The burgeoning romance between the two seems to bubble on the surface in this book too. 

Olly Jarvis uses all of his technical abilitites and experience of the legal system to write with great accuracy but he also writes with warmth and sensitivity. In particular I refer to one of the cases that was very tricky for Jack Kowalski when as defence barrister he managed to get bail in a case when perhaps that wasn't the best course of action.

Short, sharp chapters keep the writing crisp and the reader engaged. There is so much here for the reader of legal thrillers to enjoy and if you haven't read anything by Olly Jarvis yet I implore you to do so. 

Unconvicted is current, engaging, and relevant. Never bogged down with legal jargon. The pace of this novel is fantastic and I would highly recommend it.

About the Author:
Olly Jarvis is a writer and criminal defence barrister, originally from London but now working in Manchester. Drawing on his experiences, he writes both fiction and non-fiction with a particular understanding of the pressures and excitement of life in the courtroom. He wrote the highly acclaimed Radio 4 drama Judgement, and wrote and presented the BBC documentary Mum Knows Best. He is also the author of Death by Dangerous. Olly has two children and lives in Cheshire.
You can find the author on Twitter: @OllyJarviso

Please do have a look at some of the other stops on the tour.


SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

© Reflections of a Reader
Blogger Template Made By pipdig