Sunday, 4 March 2018

#BlogTour: 37 Hours by J F Kirwan @kirwanjf @rararesources #37Hours

Published by HQ Digital 37 Hours is available now. My thanks to the author and the publisher for the review copy and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for having me on the blog tour. You can purchase your copy of the book here.

The only way to hunt down a killer is to become one…

After two long years spent in a secret British prison, Nadia Laksheva is suddenly granted her freedom. Yet there is a dangerous price to pay for her release: she must retrieve the Russian nuclear warhead stolen by her deadliest enemy, a powerful and ruthless terrorist known only as The Client.
But her mysterious nemesis is always one step ahead and the clock is ticking. In 37 hours, the warhead will explode, reducing the city of London to a pile of ash. Only this time, Nadia is prepared to pull the trigger at any cost…
The deadly trail will take her from crowded Moscow to the silent streets of Chernobyl, but will Nadia find what she is looking for before the clock hits zero?

The gripping second novel in J.F. Kirwan’s brilliant spy thriller series. Perfect for fans of Charles Cumming, Mark Dawson and Adam Brookes.

My Thoughts:

37 Hours is the second in the Nadia Laksheva Spy Thriller series, I read and reviewed the first 66 Metres here. Although 37 Hours can be read as a standalone I recommend reading 66 metres first so that you can build a bit of background information. 

Nadia has been released from prison after being put there at the behest of MI6. Although her release is a double edged sword as she now has a dangerous mission to retrieve a Russian warhead. Set in London, Chernobyl and Moscow this book is a high octane thriller and yet again the author has pulled out all the stops. Will Nadia retrieve the warhead before it is too late and London is decimated. 

Yet again I found Nadia to be strong and likeable and it was great to see her character develop even further in this novel. Old characters and new help to keep the pace, which it has to be said is pretty relentless. 

There is violence in the story and sometimes brutal, I would say however that it remains necessary to the plot, nothing is gratuitous. 

Full of action and suspense I now cannot wait to read the next instalment of this exciting and exhilarating thriller series. The wonderful prose and non stop action was enough to keep me entertained on every page. 

About the Author:
J. F. Kirwan is the author of the Nadia Laksheva thriller series for HarperCollins. Having worked in accident investigation and prevention in nuclear, offshore oil and gas and aviation sectors, he uses his experience of how accidents initially build slowly, then race towards a climax, to plot his novels. An instructor in both scuba diving and martial arts, he travels extensively all over the world, and loves to set his novels in exotic locations. He is also an insomniac who writes in the dead of night. His favourite authors include Lee Child, David Baldacci and Andy McNab.

Please have a look at the other stops on the blog tour.


SHARE:

1 comment

© Reflections of a Reader
Blogger Template Made By pipdig