#Review: Broken Branches by M. Jonathan Lee @HideawayFall @MJonathanLee #BrokenBranches

Broken Branches is published by Hideaway Fall on the 27th July 2017. It is the first release from this publisher, my thanks to them for sending me a review copy.

'Family curses don't exist. Sure, some families seem to suffer more pain than others, but a curse? An actual curse? I don't think so.' 

A family tragedy was the catalyst for Ian Perkins to return to the isolated cottage with his wife and young son. But now they are back, it seems yet more grief might befall the family. 

There is still time to act, but that means Ian must face the uncomfortable truth about his past. And in doing so, he must uncover the truth behind the supposed family curse. 

My Thoughts:

Broken Branches is the first publication from brand new publisher Hideaway Fall. There has been a massive marketing campaign behind this one and social media has been abuzz. That brings a trepidation of its own as a reader and reviewer, will the story live up to hype surrounding it. I am happy to say that Broken Branches delivered on so many levels.

Ian Perkins returns to the isolated cottage that was his family home, a home that has been passed down from generation to generation. Also passed down, if it is to believed is a curse on the people that live in the cottage. A tree in the garden seems the catalyst for this. The story is pretty dark and creepy throughout, there is a really Gothic feel to it. The ethereal nature of this story means that there is little to feel happy about as events unfold.

Ian Perkins is falling apart, driving himself crazy trying to piece together his family history. Trying to find out about the curse in order to stop it. The cottage makes noises, a creak here, a door slamming there. Papers being moved and put out of order. On the face of it, this would seem ghostly. I am not convinced. The further I got into the story, the more I understood. The Author has done a deft job of writing a multi layered story a ghostly, supernatural story that can be taken at face value or one that runs much deeper if you dare to scrape beneath the surface.

There are chapters about Ian Perkins early years and his time in the cottage during his childhood. He seemingly wanted to be accepted and he also wanted to better himself, he wanted to be different. He didn't want to be defined by life on the farm. I still have a few unanswered questions about his childhood and why he felt the way that he did.

I took more from this story in the aspects of the decline in one persons Mental Health, never have I been a believer in ghosts and curses. Ian Perkins is not a well man, a fragmented mind, the branches of his memories and his present broken and becoming evermore disjointed. The Author has written about one persons unravelling with great skill and care.

The pace built to a crescendo as the story reached its final chapter, almost as if things had to get worse before they could get better. A reminder that much like a tree branch we can bend but we must not break.

Hugely readable and thought provoking.

About the Author:
M. Jonathan Lee (also known as Jonathan Lee) was born in 1974. He is an award-winning novelist who has had two novels in the #10 Amazon charts. He was born in Yorkshire, northern England where he still lives today. 

His first novel, the critically-acclaimed The Radio was shortlisted for The Novel Prize 2012 and is the first in the loosely titled The 'The' trilogy. His second novel, The Page (the second in The 'The' trilogy) was released in January 2015. 

His third novel A Tiny Feeling of Fear was released in September 2015. It has been hailed as 'original and inspiring' by Sunday Times best-selling author, Milly Johnson.

He is working closely with Rethink and Mind Charities to raise awareness of mental health issues, and is a regular commentator on the BBC. 

He signed a four-book deal in February 2015 and is currently writing a non-fiction rock biography about Boston-based band Hallelujah the Hills. He is also writing three further fiction titles, the first of which is to be released in late 2017.

His fourth novel, Broken Branches is due out in July 2017, published by Hideaway Fall. 

More details including contact information can be found at his website:

He is happy to talk to anyone...

No comments:

Post a comment