navigation

11/05/2018

#BlogBlitz: The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton @bookish_yogi @rararesources @HQDigitalUK #thethingsweneedtosay

Delighted to be a part of the blog blitz celebrating the publication of The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton. Published by HQ Digital, you can get your copy here.


Sometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.

Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the ways things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alone.

As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.

 Perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan

My Thoughts:

The Things We Need to Say is the first book that I have read by Rachel Burton and I found the writing to be striking and beautiful. This moving and beautiful story will stay with me for some time. 

An exploration of how life can affect love, how change can cause problems and whether there really is any way back when things begin to seem desolate. There is always hope. 

This story centres on Fran and Will and a crumbled marriage. A story that is told from both perspectives which I found very interesting. Fran is teaching yoga at a retreat in Spain leaving Will behind. I particularly enjoyed the scenes at the retreat and the characters that we meet there. Can Fran find herself and gain peace and learn to move forward with life?

The Things We Need to Say is poignant and touching and incredibly well written. A story of loss and fertility and an examination of what happens when we forget to talk.

Rachel Burton writes beautifully, eloquently and sensitively. I very much enjoyed reading this story of love, loss and hope and will be reading more from this author in the future. 


About the Author:
Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down.

After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn't really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.

She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.

Her debut, The Many Colours of Us, was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second novel, The Things We Need to to Say, is released on 11 May 2018. She is currently working on her third novel in which the heroine follows the love of her life to live in a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all.....maybe.

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday....

No comments:

Post a comment

TEMPLATE BY PRETTYWILDTHINGS