Saturday, 28 July 2018

#BlogBlitz: The Invisible Case by Isabella Muir @SussexMysteries @rararesources #TheInvisibleCase

Published on 30th June 2018. My thanks to the author/publisher for the review copy and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for inviting me on the blog blitz. Should you be interested you can get your own copy here, alternatively there is a giveaway running which is at the bottom of this post.



A shocking death turns a homecoming into a nightmare. 


It's Easter 1970 in the seaside town of Tamarisk Bay, and for one family the first Easter of a new decade brings a shocking tragedy. Amateur sleuth and professional librarian, Janie Juke, is settling into motherhood and looking forward to spending time with her family. When her Aunt Jessica is due back from Rome after nine years travelling around Europe, she arrives back in town with a new Italian friend, Luigi, and the whole family soon get embroiled in a tangle of mystery and suspicion, with death and passion at the heart of the story.



As time runs out on Luigi as prime suspect for murder, Janie has to use all of her powers of deduction in the footsteps of her hero, Hercule Poirot, to uncover the facts. Why did Luigi come to Tamarisk Bay? What is the truth about his family?
As Luigi's story unfolds, tragedy seems to haunt the past, present and unless Janie acts fast, possibly what is yet to come.

My Thoughts:

The Invisible Case is the third book in Janie Juke series of crime mysteries. It is the first I have read and it certainly reads well as a standalone. I was initially drawn in by the mention of Poirot in the blurb as I am certainly a big fan. This description is accurate. The Janie Juke series would appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot. There is somewhat of a cozy mystery feel about it. The crime fiction I normally read has a lot more grit so I am afraid I don't have much to compare this book to but I can say that I did enjoy the change of pace and found myself embroiled in the writing and the mystery. 

The Invisible Case is set in Italy and Sussex in the fictional town of Tamarisk Bay, the author has used a good sense of place and the journey between Italy and Sussex was exciting. As it is the first time of meeting the character of Janie Juke I really liked her and her amateur sleuthing. 

Luigi is a character that was more difficult to like, he finds himself in the UK as the prime suspect of a murder. I won't be telling you anymore about the mystery as that needs to be discovered by the reader alone.

Overall I found The Invisible Case to be well written and highly readable. Arguably I do prefer my crime and mysteries to have a lot more grit and pace to them but that is purely personal preference and no discredit to this book. 

I would recommend this as a solid piece of fiction to add to the stable of cozy mysteries so if you a fan of those then I can recommend this book to you. 

About the Author:

Isabella Muir is the author of Janie Juke series of crime mysteries - all set in Sussex.

'The Tapestry Bag' is the first in the series, followed by ‘Lost Property’. Now - 'The Invisible Case' - the latest in the series is available for pre-order from Amazon.

The 'Janie Juke mysteries' are set in Sussex in the sixties and seventies and feature a young librarian with a passion for Agatha Christie. All that Janie has learned from her hero, Hercule Poirot, she is able to put into action as she sets off to solve a series of crimes and mysteries.

Isabella has also published 'Ivory Vellum' - a collection of short stories.

She has been surrounded by books her whole life and – after working for twenty years as a technical editor and having successfully completed her MA in Professional Writing - she was inspired to focus on fiction writing.
Aside from books, Isabella has a love of all things caravan-like. She has spent many winters caravanning in Europe and now, together with her husband, she runs a small caravan site in Sussex. They are ably assisted by their much-loved Scottie, Hamish.

Social Media Links –
TWITTER  @SussexMysteries

Giveaway – Win a signed copy of The Invisible Case (Open Internationally)
*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.



a Rafflecopter giveaway
SHARE:

1 comment

  1. Hello Leah - thanks so much for your review of 'The Invisible Case' - as an indie author it is always so encouraging to get positive feedback - I had better get on with Janie's next case - it is fun to see what she might be tackling next! All the best Isabella Muir

    ReplyDelete

© Reflections of a Reader
Blogger Template Made By pipdig