navigation

15/11/2017

#BlogTour: Lay Me to Rest by @EAClarkAuthor @rararesources #LayMetoRest



 Lay Me to Rest by E.A. Clark was published by HQ Digital on 29th September 2017. My thanks to the Author and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for the review copy and having me on the blog tour.


Lay Me To Rest

Some secrets never stay buried for long…

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.
She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…
Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?
A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!

Purchase from Amazon UKamzn.to/2k7xLmq

My Thoughts:

Lay Me to  Rest was one of those books that just hooked me in from the very first page and I didn't put it down until I was finished. I found it utterly page turning and engrossing. 

Annie Philips is recently bereaved, her husband died in a tragic accident and she is pregnant with his child. In an attempt to get away from all that her grief brings her she rents a cottage in Anglesey. She hopes for a change of scenery, fresh air and a new start. The people at the cottages are friendly and amiable, her neighbour Peter is a bit peculiar but Annie doesn't worry to much. That is until ghostly goings on start occurring, Annie finds this unsettling, upsetting and disturbing, it becomes clear that something has happened at the cottage in the past. Annie with the help of others is determined to find out what, and perhaps lay the ghosts to rest.

There is a real mystery involved in this book, suspense is built up wonderfully across several chapters. I couldn't wait to find out the truth of what had happened. I loved the ethereal quality of this novel, although at times the plot had a certain menace to it and an edgy undertone, never quite knowing what is going to happen next. 

I don't read many books with a supernatural element to them, preferring to keep my feet firmly on the ground. This one however had all the elements that have made it the superb story that it is. 

Vivid imagery and an excellently described setting puts the reader right in the heart of the action and I for one would love to read anything else by this author in the future. 

About the Author:
E. A. Clark lives in the Midlands with her husband and son, plus a rather temperamental cat, a rabbit and a chinchilla. She has three (now grown-up) children and five grandchildren. She is particularly partial to Italian food, decent red wine (or any coloured wine come to that …) and cake – and has been known to over-indulge in each on occasions.
She has a penchant for visiting old graveyards and speculating on the demise of those entombed beneath. Whilst she has written short stories and poetry for many years, a lifelong fascination with all things paranormal has culminated in her first novel for adults, Lay Me to Rest. The setting is inspired by her love of Wales, owing to her father’s Celtic roots.
Follow E.A. Clark on…

Please do have a look at some of the other stops on the blog tour. 


No comments:

Post a comment

TEMPLATE BY PRETTYWILDTHINGS