Thursday, 30 August 2018

#BlogTour: The Liar's Room by Simon Lelic @Simon_Lelic @PenguinUKBooks #TheLiarsRoom

Published by Penguin Books Limited on 9th August 2018. My thanks to the author and the publisher for the review copy and inviting me on to the blog tour. 

ONE ROOM. TWO LIARS. NO WAY OUT...
Susanna Fenton has a secret. Fourteen years ago she left her identity behind, reinventing herself as a counsellor and starting a new life. It was the only way to keep her daughter safe.
But everything changes when Adam Geraghty walks into her office. She's never met this young man before - so why does she feel like she knows him?
Then Adam starts to tell her about a girl. A girl he wants to hurt.
And Susanna realises she was wrong. 
She doesn't know him. 
BUT HE KNOWS HER.
AND THE GIRL HE PLANS TO HURT IS HER DAUGHTER...

The addictive new thriller with an ending you'll never guess, The Liar's Room is perfect for readers of Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door and A J Finn's The Woman in the Window.

My Thoughts:
The Liar's Room is the first book that I have read by Simon Lelic. It is deep seated within the psychological thriller genre, it is creepy and dark. I loved it. It is the sort of read that takes the reader along by the seat of their pants, chews them up and spits them out at the end. 
There are two main characters featured who are Susanna Fenton and Adam Geraghty. Susanna is a counsellor and Adam needs her help. They first meet in her office. Susanna is hiding secrets and Adam seems familiar. What ensues is absolutely taut and gripping and I am going to tell you no more. You really deserve to find out for yourself. 
Danger seems to present itself on every page, this is a very claustrophobic and realistic read. A clever story of lies and manipulation. I loved the twisting and turning nature of this and the fact that I didn't like the characters very much. 
Superbly written and really spell binding writing. I will definitely be reading more by this author in the future.
About the Author:
Simon Lelic is the author of three previous novels: Rupture(winner of a Betty Trask Award and shortlisted for the John Creasy Debut Dagger), The Facility and The Child Who(longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2012). The House is his first psychological thriller, inspired by a love of Alfred Hitchcock and Stephen King.
You can find him on Twitter: @Simon_Lelic
Please do have a look at the other stops on the blog tour.

SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

© Reflections of a Reader
Blogger Template Made By pipdig