navigation

16/03/2019

#BlogTour: The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl @KathMcGurl @HQDigitalUK @rararesources #TheForgottenSecret


Published by HQ Digital on 1st March 2019. My thanks to the author and the publisher for the review copy and Rachel of Rachel's Random Resources for inviting me on to the blog tour. 


The Forgotten Secret
A country at war
It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing and before long Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.
And a long-buried secret
A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place – and herself – back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.
For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence. 
Purchase Links

My Thoughts:

Well I don't really know where I have been where author Kathleen McGurl is concerned as The Forgotten Secret is the first book that I have read of hers. I am pleased to say though on the basis of this I will definitely be reading the others. 

The Forgotten Secret is a memorable historical fiction novel that has a dual time line, both of these things are not usually my cup of tea but I was completely wrapped up in the lives of Ellen in 1919 and Clare in the modern day. This is the story of two strong women and is a lesson in Irish history something that sadly I don't know much about. 

Clare manages to escape her life when she inherits a farmhouse, she sees this as a way of escape and a new start but it is Ellen's story that I fell in love with and her story of love with her sweetheart. 

In reading this book I feel like I really went on a journey with the characters, who were warm and likeable. This book wasn't overly long but it felt like something of an epic and managed to pack so much in to the pages. 

I love the way that past and present combined here to make a story that was a rich tapestry of lives lived. I admire the research that must have taken place in order to write this story with honesty and integrity. 

Engaging, with characters that just danced off the page. I could even hear their voices in my head. I was really impressed with this one. 

Kathleen McGurl has got herself a new fan! 

About the Author:

Kathleen McGurl lives near the sea in Bournemouth, UK, with her husband and elderly tabby cat. She has two sons who are now grown-up and have left home. She began her writing career creating short stories, and sold dozens to women’s magazines in the UK and Australia. Then she got side-tracked onto family history research – which led eventually to writing novels with genealogy themes. She has always been fascinated by the past, and the ways in which the past can influence the present, and enjoys exploring these links in her novels.
Social Media Links –
Twitter: @KathMcGurl  https://twitter.com/KathMcGurl

Please do have a look at the other stops on the blog tour.



No comments:

Post a comment

TEMPLATE BY PRETTYWILDTHINGS